Zahn Anthony takes home Edna Reilly & Stewart Nutt wins the Don Smith Medal

by Rugby Union SA

Old Collegians Stewart Nutt has been named the 2020 Don Smith Medal winner in the tightly contested category of Best & Fairest Senior Male.

Nutt missed the first six weeks of the season so the announcement came as a big surprise. 

''Given it was also a short season it came us a surprise but I'm very happy.

''I grew up playing rugby in South Australia so I've always known what the award is about and it's a big honour to personally get it,'' said Nutt. 

An integral part of the Old Collegians Premier Grade team, Stewart will be instrumental in his role against Burnside this Saturday as both teams vie for a position in the Grand Final against Brighton.


Zahn Anthony from Woodville was named the Womens Best & Fairest taking home the Edna Reilly Medal.

A clear favourite for the medal in the early rounds, Anthony has moved over from Touch Football three years ago and has fallen in love with the game.

''I began playing Rugby three years ago in the Rugby 7s program through Adelaide University Romas and then moved across to XVs.

After being fast-tracked to the top in just a short time, Anthony credits the team around her.

''I would like to thank the Woodville Rugby Club and all the girls I play with and Graeme the Club President who's always welcomed me with open arms and our coaches for all their support,'' said Anthony. 


2020 Medal Winners

Coopers Club Champion - Onkaparinga

Coopers Alehouse Volunteer of the Year - Peter Campagna, Elizabeth

Darryl Ryan Memorial Shield for Best Grounds and Facilities - Brighton

HJ Rogers Memorial Shield for Administrative Services - George McDonald, Onkaparinga

RUSA Top Team Tries, Women - Onkaparinga

Bob Hogarth Top Team Tries, Men - Old Collegians, Premier

Neil Charter Memorial Shield for Junior Development - Lainie Cozzitorto, Barossa

Ray Rosser Memorial Cup for Coach of the Year - Richard Wasley, Brighton

U18s Tackling Trophy - Spiridon Haratsaris, Brighton

Meredith Knowler Tackling Trophy - Brianna Nathan, Brighton

Sir Norman Jude Tackling Trophy - Jack Cook, Brighton

Junior Maualaivao Memorial Shield - Samuel Rahaley, Burnside

Ray Herde Memorial Shield, U21 Best & Fairest - Cruz Topai-Aveai, Brighton

Edna Reilly Memorial Cup, Womens Best & Fairest - Zahn Anthony, Woodville

Presidents Trophy for Best Forward - Stewart Nutt, Old Collegians

Chairmans Trophy for Best Back - Sean Meredith, Burnside

Don Smith Medal, Mens Best & Fairest - Stewart Nutt, Old Collegians

Referee Awards

Quentin Fleischfresser Most Outstanding Junior Referee - Henri Pardoe

Life Members Most Improved Referee - Adam Bethell

RDO Coaches Award - Chris Kummerow

Presidents Cup for Outstanding Contribution